Topic Options
#6701 - 05/28/11 03:54 AM Using Vintage Warmer for Voiceover work
Chris Caldwell Offline

Hello, I'm a Voiceover artist who records in Pro tools 9. I have some questions.

Usually, I set up a single audio track and a master track. I apply the VM when I'm bouncing the audio to disc, rather than record with it in real time. This way I avoid latency. Anyway, my question is which is best to use on my voiceovers, Microwarmer, Vintage Warmer, or Vintage Warmer 2.

I just upraded to VM2. In the past, I've used just Vintage Warmer in a studio and just set it to the default settings of Mix First Aid 4. This has always worked great. I'm just wondering if this is the proper thing to do since I'm only really using this on a mono voiceover track.

Of course, I do these VOs for a living, and want to have the absolute best quality.

Also, am I supposed to still normalize the track or does Vintage Warmer 2 do this for you? Would it be redundant to normalize? if it is necessary, do you normalize and then apply vintage warmer?

With regards to the meters, I'm not quite how these work. Normally, I have a Waves Dorrough Meter plugin on my master track when I bounce. Is the VM meter necessary to use?

Finally, would the Oldtimer plugin be advantageous to someone who does voiceovers?

Thank you very much for your help and suggestion.
Chris

#6745 - 06/13/11 05:19 PM Re: Using Vintage Warmer for Voiceover work [Re: Chris Caldwell]
mathias Offline

from your questions i would assume, that you do not really know, what the plugin does to your tracks.
so it is difficult to answer your questions.
i encourage you to play around with the plugin and hear what different settings do to your voice-tracks.
you need good monitoring, to really hear the effects clearly.