Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#5197 - 08/07/06 06:52 PM Neon HR Performance
Dave Davis Offline

Loc: Cincinnati, Ohio USA
Hi,

I'm new to Neon HR, and have yet to find an application that can actually run it. I've tried it in Spark, Soundtrack Pro and ProTools, on dual and single processor G4s, but it spits and stutters everywhere. What applications can HR actually run in, and what speed cpu do I need (currently my dualie's 1.25 gHz, the single is 1 gHz)?

I've found that I can get it to sort of work in standard mode with FAT or LP off (I can run either/or). Regular non-HR Neon runs a tad better, but it isn't great either.

What up?

-d-

#5198 - 08/20/06 06:43 PM Re: Neon HR Performance
terminal3 Offline

Loc: London, UK
I'm running it on a dual-processor G5 (2.3GHz) and it's hurting... huge CPU hit on 'max' resolution mode, but it works in Pro Tools LE 7.1 and Peak Pro XT 5. Well, when I say 'works' - the sound does. Pro Tools starts to stutter graphically - the scrolling edit window doesn't scroll much, rather than just jump from place to place erratically, but the audio holds, thankfully. To put it bluntly, it's a processing pig, and I can't imagine having any success on a computer much slower.

On the upside, it's one of the best-sounding plug-ins I've ever used...!

#5199 - 08/21/06 10:01 AM Re: Neon HR Performance
Hubert Pietrzykowski PSP Offline

Loc: Warsaw
Please check your output (hardware) buffer settings. If it's too small the plug-in must do a lot of overlapped processing to deliver its output on time to the host, which makes the CPU-load extremely high.
Also, if you use ProTools please make sure you have version 1.1.0 of Neon (Neon HR) and PT 7.0 or later

#5200 - 08/22/06 11:03 AM Re: Neon HR Performance
terminal3 Offline

Loc: London, UK